As of today, liability auto insurance is mandatory in the state of Wisconsin.
The state’s minimum liability limits, which were raised in January, are nearly the highest in the nation, behind just Maine and Alaska.
Those caught driving without proof of insurance may face a $10 fine, while those caught without insurance can be fined up to $500.
Wisconsin had been one of only two states that did not require auto insurance coverage, the other being New Hampshire.
“This upcoming change in the law means that people who are currently uninsured need to act now to get the required auto liability coverage in place,” said Wisconsin Insurance Commissioner Sean Dilweg, in a press release.
“Fortunately Wisconsin has a very competitive auto insurance marketplace with over 200 insurance companies doing business here,” added Dilweg. “Someone looking for coverage should be able to find the insurance they need and get covered almost immediately.”
The big question is whether the new law will actually lead to better auto insurance coverage in the state – roughly 15% of drivers in Wisconsin are uninsured.
There’s a good chance that those currently driving without insurance will continue to drive uninsured, all the more reason to carry uninsured motorist coverage.