Allstate Safe Driving Bonus Check Review

May 3, 2010 100 Comments »

check

Similar to the swift evolution of the single blade razor into the 5-blade, comfort-tech, battery powered vibrating razor, insurance companies are constantly raising the stakes to snag our business.

The latest effort to gain our insurance dollar is the “Allstate Safe Driving Bonus check,” which is a slight upgrade from their original Safe Driving Bonus.

So what are we really looking at here?


[Compare rates from the leading car insurance companies in your area.]

Well, pay close attention to the difference between “bonus” and “bonus check.”

The Safe Driving Bonus check option is just a simple enhancement to the Safe Driving Bonus, which is one benefit of the Allstate Your Choice Auto program. Are you confused yet?

The Safe Driving Bonus provides a credit to Allstate insured drivers that do not have a claim within a specified policy term (at least 6 months).

The allotted credit is up to 5% of the policy insurance premium, applied to you renewal policy.

For example, if you pay $500 for six months of car insurance, you are eligible to receive a $25 credit for your next six-month policy term. In other words, you would only have to pay $475 for your next six months with Allstate.

Good news: This bonus is in addition to any other good driver discounts you already receive from Allstate.

But prior to the Safe Driving Bonus check program, the aforementioned 5% credit could only be applied to your renewal premium. Basically, you don’t “earn” the credit unless you stay on as a policyholder with Allstate.

Now, with the Safe Driving Bonus check program in effect, you receive an actual check for the amount you “earned” during your term as a safe driver.

So in the example above, the $25 would be mailed to you in the form of a check whether you renew or not.

Here are the minor catches:

In order to qualify for any of this, you must first be enrolled in the Allstate Your Choice Auto program.

Allstate Your Choice Auto requires you to have a clean driving record and good credit (insurance score).

If you’re eligible or already enrolled, the Safe Driving Bonus check may not be available until your next policy renewal.

Additionally, any bonus under $5 will only be applied to your renewal premium. So if you don’t stay insured with Allstate all bets are off.

In conclusion, not a whole lot has changed, unless you really, really like checks.

Looking for health insurance quotes?
Or homeowners insurance quotes?
Or life insurance quotes?



100 Comments

  1. mike September 13, 2014 at 12:16 pm -

    scam,i didn`t get a check,i got a increase.

  2. Agent Agnes October 8, 2014 at 8:12 am -

    Mike,

    The Allstate Safe Driving Bonus program is not a scam, nor I\s it misleading.

    Let me set the record straight, You would have only received an increase in your Allstate premium if you a) upgraded your coverage limits to a plan with more benefits and higher coverage limits, b) had an at fault accident, or had speeding tickets or other moving violations during your policy period. Those are the only reasons why premiums increase. Best Wishes, Agent Agnes

  3. Consumer Kathy November 24, 2014 at 12:07 pm -

    Agent Agnes,

    Please do not post false information. There are many reasons why premiums can increase. Some are within our control, others are not. Best Wishes, Consumer Kathy

  4. Tina December 10, 2014 at 1:09 am -

    I agree with Kathy. I didn’t purchase anything new and mine went up. I have no accidents or violations. I have full coverage and I have never received a check. I used the car gadget for a year for a discount but no check was ever refunded to me. I have been a faithful customer to Allstate for many, many years. I was told my policy went up because of Obama changes!

  5. Debbie Lasquade January 6, 2015 at 12:33 am -

    It is a lie my family has been with Allstate for years they never got a check in all the years they’ve been with them i haven’t either so it is a scam and a lie and we have perfect driving records

  6. ron January 8, 2015 at 9:36 am -

    I changed coverage from progressive to all state because progressive upped my payments for no reason and ill drop all state like a bad habit as soon as they pull that sh*t!

  7. Gwen January 16, 2015 at 8:11 pm -

    The safe driving have a bonus check is a scam. I have a good driving record. I have not had a ticket in 30 years. I have never had an accident, nor have I ever filed a claim; and, still my premium increased. This is a joke.

  8. Wes January 18, 2015 at 8:48 am -

    Agent Agnes,

    My insurance premium increased 34% because I moved 15 miles to a different zip code (still inside the same County).

    As an agent of the company, your false information is misleading to reasonable consumers. You may want to be careful about what you post since I could technically demand that Allstate lower my premiums, since an agent (you) informed me that my rates should not have increased for the reason Allstate actually increased them.

    In the future, consider thinking before you post.

  9. okiemom January 18, 2015 at 7:20 pm -

    If you’ve been with Allstate for years you likely are not enrolled in the safe driver program and therefore not getting the check. However if you enroll it likely would increase your premium, not worth it for $5-10. There are many reasons your rates increase from you move , purchase a new car, if auto accidents or thefts in your zip code increase dramatically. However if Allstate does what progressive did and raise my motorcycle policies $1800 a year I will drop them like a hot potato.

  10. sUE January 23, 2015 at 11:01 am -

    I was told by my agent this does not apply to California. My premium has been going up every renewal and I have not had 1 ticket, accident etc. They say it is because I don’t turn in my mileage report. Crazy. I need to change companies.

  11. Dale January 24, 2015 at 3:44 pm -

    My wife and I had our car insurance rates to go up 75% because I turned 65…. We had been with PEMCO for 20 years.. They all are crooks…..Wow.

  12. allstate customer February 1, 2015 at 9:19 am -

    I agree I, too, have never received “the check” for safe driving. I have only received regular increases. When I inquired why, I was told it was due to medical insurance coverage increases due to Obamacare. This Allstate commercial should be pulled off the TV immediately.

  13. gennaro February 11, 2015 at 10:50 am -

    Allstate commercial it’s a scam they tell me not in Ct , but they advertise in Ct, and yes they do go up , remember all insurances pay into a general insurance pool , INSURANCE FOR INSURANCE WHICH LENDS TO BANKS AND GOVERNMENT , when they need to generate capital from storm,tornados, the east coast pays the middle and central because we are richer in the east coast , northern central pays west coast for flooding and earthquake and fires and the stock holders get richer , it’s all pre planned

  14. Randy February 12, 2015 at 6:31 pm -

    I have Geico. I have found that they are the cheapest. All insurance, by law, is the same. The only difference is the price and the ads. 10 years ago an allstate customer rear ended me. Instead of paying allstate decided they wanted to stall and play games. My lawyer had to sue them and unfortunately their customer. I got my money, but the woman who hit me has a credit score ruining lawsuit on her record because that wonderful company wouldn’t do what they should have done. It was an open and shut case.

  15. Barbra February 16, 2015 at 7:46 am -

    Allstate is a scam i have had them for two years and i asked them about the program i was told that they don’t have it in California. Lmao lmao

  16. Carlos February 17, 2015 at 1:25 pm -

    Carrot… stick. Bait… switch. Gimmie, gimmie, gimme. They pray on your greed and envy.

  17. Me March 6, 2015 at 9:38 pm -

    Unfortunately insurance rates goes up just like any other product. no one can guarantee a drop in your insurance rates at renewal and if they do guarantee it, you better get it in writing. I have no clue as to why Agent Agnes would put his/her job and insurance license on the line by posting what he/she did. There are numerous reasons for increases in insurance premiums. No one can pin point every penny of your increase. As much as the consumer would like, it just won’t happen. It could increase due to rating classes, insurer claims pay outs, insurance scores may change, accidents and violations, etc…I hear the concerns and complaints daily. Hope this helps some. Best wishes, Me.

  18. Ronnie March 14, 2015 at 6:07 pm -

    I was told its not available in N.C. either. This renewal period my insurance went up 15.00 per month. Currently have 3 cars, 2 motorcycles and home all with Allstate. Why I ask, well it was no answer. I am also accident free with nothing on my record.

  19. jerry March 15, 2015 at 12:53 pm -

    I’ve been with Allstate for eight years been told not in CA. I want to know why not?

  20. Kevin March 25, 2015 at 10:07 am -

    The program isn’t a scam. You can get the checks in Colorado. And Allstate shouldn’t be held accountable for premium increases forced upon them by the government. There were premium increases because of the Affordable Care Act. Certain states also increase taxes charged to insurance companies, which also translates into a premium increase.

    It’s also true that there is a bare minimum insurance requirement. This is why junker insurance companies (like Permanent General) can under cut all other companies. But you pay more for better coverage and better customer service.

    I’ve had the General and they were terrible all around. I’ve had Geico, and they were okay until the second you needed to deal with customer service or make a claim. I’ve had Progressive and they were extremely expensive and offered only lip service. Allstate is the best BY FAR. The only thing better is USAA. Sadly, I am not military.

  21. david March 25, 2015 at 3:46 pm -

    the big ripoff problem here is insurance companies being allowed to use a persons credit rating to set what they charge for coverage. why does our government allows this to keep happening,,,oh wait they probably get cutbacks for allowing it.

  22. Jovita Tavares April 15, 2015 at 4:50 pm -

    This is a scam I had two vehicles and was paying 174 once I added a third vehicle my bill went up to 360 a month…. I’ve been with them for a year and I haven’t received a bonus check…. no accidents or claims since the start of the policy….. not to mention never been late on my paymemts! So what is said about that!

  23. Jack Lovett April 21, 2015 at 5:26 pm -

    Please, rates did not go up due to ACA.
    Someone is selling a bill of goods to justify their rate increase.
    My rates have stayed the same, however, no check or credit.
    I contacted my agent about why, he said it is up to Allstate, he had no influence on my complaint.
    So yes, the program is a scam.
    My policy expires in less than two months, already have a better quote in hand from Met.

  24. James April 23, 2015 at 10:18 am -

    The situation is simple. You buy the top tier coverage and you qualify for the bonus checks. You pay more for this level. As a matter of fact, you pay more than the combined bonus checks. When I asked my agent to explain the coverage differences between the two top levels, he was unable to do so. I dropped Allstate.

    By the way. this is AUTO insurance and has nothing to do with Obamacare, which is health.

  25. Rick April 26, 2015 at 5:47 pm -

    Do you really think a measly $25 off of $600-$700 a month is motivation to go with all state!? Give me a break!

  26. Allstateisthebestnot May 6, 2015 at 10:56 am -

    Most insurance companies are pretty close in what you get for your dollar. When Allstate or any other insurer say they are going to give you something, it’s a gimmick that some people will fall for. It’s like the used car dealer offering $1000 off every vehicle all this week. Gimmicks to get you to buy their product. I could give you $1000 cash back on a $1001 candy bar.

  27. nancy May 6, 2015 at 3:24 pm -

    Its definetly not a scam! I get the bonus checks when I go 6 months without a claim. And the claims I have had in the past were handled fast, fair and courteously! I’ve been with Allstate since 1974. No complaints from me!

  28. Laurie May 25, 2015 at 9:40 am -

    I live in Virginia and have been with Allstate since last July. I have received 3 checks from them. I was told by my agent that the checks are based on several things: 1) Not going over 80mph 2) The time of day you drive 3)Whether you follow too close and have to apply your brakes for a quick stop or not.

    Also, I do not have one of the top 2 levels of coverage. I actually have the least amount of coverage and get checks.

    I would suggest checking with your agent to see why you are not receiving checks if you are doing everything required to earn one.

  29. James May 29, 2015 at 11:27 pm -

    Nancy check out the coverage at your level (with bonus checks) and the coverage at the next level down (no bonus checks). You will find it to be the same. The only difference is the premium, which more than covers the bonus checks.

  30. Plantla June 1, 2015 at 7:20 am -

    Rates go up if you move, and if you have any driving incidents (moving violations, claims, etc). So bottom line, there are REASONS for the increases. Ask your agents directly, don’t assume it’s all a scam. I have had Allstate for YEARS. It’s not the cheapest, but it’s the best when you do have an accident and need to be paid for damages. Just FYI. ASK YOUR AGENT why your rates went up.

    AND YES, moving to a new address is a reason. Different areas mean different risks. Insurance in general is a scam, but not Allstate. Stop assuming they are trying to "get you". They aren't.

  31. Larry June 2, 2015 at 1:50 pm -

    Many seem to be mad at Allstate and nobody seems to be mad at our idiot President.Go figure.

  32. Beth June 10, 2015 at 9:28 pm -

    I have had Allstate for YEARS. I do not receive Safe Driving Bonus checks because I chose to stay with my mid-tier policy instead of moving up a tier. The checks are not a scam. You have to enroll and pay for the top tier policies to qualify. My aunt and uncle have been with Allstate for nearly 40 years. They receive checks every six months, like clockwork. They signed up for the top tier coverage.

    I get a 25% discount for having my car and homeowner’s insurance bundled with Allstate. I recently bought a new car, and I expected my insurance to increase, and it did. But instead of it skyrocketing because I bought a 2015 Dodge Challenger, It only went up $20 because I now receive a new car discount.

    I am extremely happy with my Allstate coverage. I am extremely happy with my Allstate agent. I’ve had other insurances, some much more expensive, but I have never received the level of customer service that I have received from my agent.

    Also, remember this: you get what you pay for. I had a cheap/cut rate insurance while I was in college, and I could never get them to answer the phone. Finally, I got rear ended and it took an act of Congress to get them to help me.

  33. David Delano June 11, 2015 at 7:56 am -

    Having had Allstate for 1 1/2 years I enrolled in the Drivewise program which I was told was required for the “Safe Driver Bonus Check”. I had to install a device into my cars diagnostic port and keep it there. They then monitor my speed and braking. I live in a congested town in Massachusetts and also use the highway on rare occasions. I am getting penalized because I have to brake hard for other drivers cutting me off by coming out of side streets without stopping. Also the time of day is a major factor. During the morning and evening rushes I get penalties for being on the road. I take and pickup My granddaughter from school and it is right in the middle of these times. So Ialso looked up and found that they call hard braking anything that is dropping 10 mph within 8-10 seconds extreme braking. My car is a 2013 Chevy Sonic sedan and has the ability to manually shift the automatic transmission up or down like most new cars. I use this more than my brakes because it works gradually to slow down in most normal light traffic and is when I am taking sharp curves it is easier to downshift than brake. Now I am being penalized for that as well. I have a perfect driving record, 41 years of driving, any accidents were all not my fault(proven by the insurance adjusters and police). Last time was 4 years ago I was rear ended in a gas station. I am a former professional driver having been in transportation jobs from 1986. I switched to Allstate because of this program and am now looking for another insurance company. I used to have Commerce Ins. Based in MA and switched when I got a 20% jump in my rates for moving from an apartment in a 2 family house with a driveway to a large apartment complex. It is on a private way with one way in and out and patrolled daily. These didn’t have any factors for my rates so Allstate was less money. If hard braking is judged by the -10 mph in 10 seconds and I live in a large town and have excellent brakes and they have never been changed yet after 37000 miles since new, how is it I can do that and still be called hard braking? It doesn’t make sense to me. I can take my foot off the gas, not downshift and slow down faster than they allow without using my brakes I should not be punished. Most newer cars do this in my experience. I always come to a gentle stop by braking well in advance and I slow down faster than the allow maybe they need to do some adjusting. Sorry for the long rant but I don’t understand why or how they judge us that way. All cars have a black box or some other computer that monitors braking and accelleration. Why not just use that instead of the plugin piece of crap. I’m now regretting enrolling into the Drivewise program, it’s not saving me money ( unless you call 15.00 and change twice a year substantial). Thanks for hearing me out.

  34. Sandy June 11, 2015 at 12:20 pm -

    I was told you have to enroll and there will be a charge imposed on the policy. So in essence seems I am only getting MY money back. We have been with Allstate 47 years and all we do is pay them. Never have a seen one dollar back. What does car insurance have to do with the healthcare act???????? j Already pay more for my medical so why do I have to pay more car insurance??? Just like the government, logic is out the window.

  35. Consumer Jeanne June 18, 2015 at 4:17 am -

    I’ve been with Allstate for years and I receive checks usually in the $25 dollar range.

    For those that have said their costs go up or never have received a check, I would suggest do what I do, which is call your agent and see what they can do to save you money.
    I have called my agent and asked why is it that as a 50+ year old with no accidents or tickets is paying what I considered rates that are too high.

    My agent did her job and got my rate lower and I get checks.

  36. Wanda Weston July 1, 2015 at 12:37 pm -

    I’ve been with Allstate for 5 to 7 yrs? Never an accident or infraction but never received a good driver check. How come?

  37. Marissa Rushing July 8, 2015 at 2:34 pm -

    What allstate agents don’t tell you is that they also increase your rates based on credit reports. Really? Everyone has been slammed within the last 3-4 years. I think that practice is ridiculous. They love doing it here in Texas. You pay allstate roughly around $2200 per month and you are with them for 15 years roughly 390,000 plus and get into one accident, fender bender causing $5,000, and you’re paying extra for the next 7 years. Insurance is the biggest scam and made mandatory. Unbelievable.

  38. David Peterson July 15, 2015 at 9:03 am -

    First, I’m not an Allstate customer. However, I have found it wise to check rates with all companies whenever my insurance contract is coming due. I do the same with home insurance. I have found that insurance companies give you a ‘teaser’ rate in the first year and then jack it up, hoping you will not check. You need to be proactive. The same is true with ongoing debts like telephone, electricity, cable television and the like.

  39. william July 17, 2015 at 9:24 pm -

    I’ve been with allstate for over 25 years. Never had a claim until august of last year. I have my home and auto with them the claim was on the house due to storm damage to the roof. Massve hail and wind damage to both front and back. When the adjuster came out my wife and I were happy that ” we were in good hands” NOT!

    Before the adjuster came out we had three different independant professional roofers out to inspect the damage. All three were within $100 of each others estimate to repair the damage. But to our surprise the adjuster said the back of the house was not bad enough for them to pay a claim on the total they had was $ 3900 less than what the roofers said needed repaired with our deductable we would be $4400 out of pocket to repair the damage. Then on top of that they raised my home premium up $300 per year. Being I had just paid the premium we were stuck. Now its almost time to renew I will be shopping for a NEW insurance company.

    Although I’m sure all of them are in bed together and we, the consumers are the ones being screwed. I’ve paid Allstate over $20000 in home insurance alone and they could not even pay $7200 to fix what needed to be fixed. Basically they wanted to fix half the roof. Wonder if I could get away with paying half my premium? Not! Only good hands when they are taking your money!

  40. Deena July 26, 2015 at 4:41 pm -

    I was told about 5 years ago that it was not available in California. I have been with Allstate for over 25 years. Have three homes, and three cars with them. No claims against my policies, no tickets, no accidents. I’m ready to change. I’m tired of the “Allstate Man” on the commercials getting paid to do a commercial and I’m sure we are paying his wages too!

  41. Regg July 26, 2015 at 6:08 pm -

    After watching that annoying commercial for the millionth time, I though I’d look into this whole bonus check thing. Before getting this far, I was telling someone at work(who was wondering the same thing) that I bet it was no more than $25, at best. Lo and behold…

    I’m one of those that can’t stand insurance companies, none of them. It’s all a big scam. Make sure you’re checking your rates, especially if you’re on some kind auto-pay system, because they will jack your rates up quicker than a NASCAR pit crew.

    I haven’t had an at fault accident in 26 years, but I couldn’t tell by looking at my rates before complaining a few months ago. After a few disgruntled emails they went down, but I’m already noticing a creep-up starting again. Not just insurance, but other things as well, like phone, TV, etc. They nickel and dime us to death, make us pay for everything in a vicious cycle, and when it’s time to give anything back, they put you through a gauntlet. Just like everything else in America, insurance is just a big, fat, slithering cash grab.

  42. Mike July 27, 2015 at 6:13 pm -

    I had Allstate for a year and every 6 months they raised my premiums, and they’re excuse was it was for the uninsured motorists, well F the uninsured motorists and stop screwing me the responsible one!! I’ve been driving for 20 plus years without an accident nor any tickets but yet year after year premiums go up!! F Allstate I will never come back to you.

  43. Josh July 28, 2015 at 5:23 am -

    Complete scam haven’t had a ticket in twelve years, I haven’t moved to another zip code nor have I changed my driving habits or coverage. I received a 35% increase its a bait and switch lower premiums for 6 months then they Jack the rates up on you. Stick with progressive or state farm that’s where I’m headed. To Agent Agnes don’t make excuses All state is notorious for poor consumer ratings have them a shot hoping they had changed their ways only to realize they have only gotten worse.

  44. Vic August 4, 2015 at 8:48 am -

    Don’t forget folks. They are an Insurance Company and a BIG Corporation. So even if you DO get a check, they are getting that money back from you in some other way. Be it the program you have to sign up for to get the check, or a raise in premiums 6 months later. Do you REALLY expect them to care that much? Why would they when in truth it’s all Computerized. Financial Analysts and master programmers are making sure they are NOT just giving away money. They are in the business of making money. More money than last time. Next time you question why your premium went up, of are thinking of that money back variable. Just remember, your just getting back the EXTRA they take to give it back (and look good to you).

    Last thought here. The BEST way to think of Insurance Companies (ANY AND ALL) is to think of them like you would a BANK. ANYTHING they can do to get your money, they WILL. Seriously folks, in the end……do you REALLY think a Big Corporation will TRULY reward you?

  45. Tanya W August 23, 2015 at 2:09 pm -

    I have had Allstate for over 20 years, and I do receive my bonus check every six months; however, for those of you who do receive the check, you must also check your renewal policy carefully. The amount of the check is applied back into the premium. I have called Allstate on numerous occasions asking why the check is applied back into my premium I get an “off the wall” response and they tell me it is not applied back into the premium. Excuse me Allstate, if I see a number with a plus (+) sign in front of it, that means to ADD – any elementary school kid will tell you that. AND if the total of the renewal premium is inclusive of the bonus check, that only tells me that the check total was included back into the premium.

    I have received no definite explanation from Allstate for their action. My renewal period is next month, and to-date, I have not received my bonus check. Since the bonus check is such a small amount (approx. $19.00), I will tell them I no longer want to receive their “so called” bonus check. I will also tell them to deduct the amount that is showing as a + on my renewal. If they do not comply, I will go shopping for another insurance carrier; thus Allstate losing out on all my business – which they probably don’t care anyway, since they have so many insured customers.

    By the way, I also noticed a slight increase in my premium, even though I have had NO claims in over seven years.

  46. Alfred August 23, 2015 at 3:16 pm -

    I discontinued my Allstate insurance after 15 solid years of safe driving safety. The safe driver check is not available in Texas. It is nothing more than a lie to string along the gullible. Should I lie the government would take me to court. It is all about the $. Congress and Senate support and profit by taking the $ and allow Allstate insurance company to lie to the consumer.

  47. KC August 27, 2015 at 3:48 pm -

    I switched from USAA because they did not want to cover my Harleys that were over 1000 cc, which is most of them, or my camper. They pawned me off to Progressive. Going with Allstate saved me bundle of cash. And my agent is great with guiding me through the change.

  48. BV September 7, 2015 at 11:29 am -

    I was with Allstate for over 2 years. No accidents, no bonus checks, no issues. So I switched insurance. I went to Farmers. Full coverage, same coverage as Allstate and Farmers was over $200.00 less. On a Lexus. I love Farmers.

  49. Lori September 8, 2015 at 10:08 am -

    Allstate’s ad you see on tv about getting 100.00 if you have had no accident is a bunch of crap, as we have had allstate for very long time & nobody every told us we that it was even available. However it wouldn’t be worth it if you have to pay more for insurance (as it is high enough now) I saw the ad & called my agent & that is when they told me how a person would receive it. Their ad lies, as they don’t mention this at all during the ad. I will be looking for another company right away.

  50. Mike C September 9, 2015 at 9:32 am -

    I use USAA and been with them over 4 years. Just in discounts I save close to $1000 every 6 months. My bill is $90 a month with full coverage on a 2015 nissan altima. If you are military or have family in the military switch to them. It’s way cheaper

  51. Chris b September 11, 2015 at 7:09 am -

    Thanks for the info on this scam. Looks like ill be keeping mendota for 38 a month. Progressive says 25 but i got a feeling its bs after reading everyones input.

  52. Steve September 18, 2015 at 1:57 pm -

    Let me set the record straight, You would have only received an increase in your Allstate premium if you a) upgraded your coverage limits to a plan with more benefits and higher coverage limits, b) had an at fault accident, or had speeding tickets or other moving violations during your policy period. Those are the only reasons why premiums increase. Best Wishes, Agent Agnes

    So if I get an Allstate policy my rate will be my “rate for life” as long as I make no changes, no at fault accidents, and no speeding tickets? Can you give me your contact information?

  53. Mike p September 22, 2015 at 6:07 pm -

    I have been with ALLSTATE for years….no claims, no tickets and no changes in coverage and my premiums go UP every 6 months like clockwork. They tell me it’s due to large payouts for hurricanes, etc. That they have no choice. Total B/S your premium does not go up unless you increase coverage, have claims or tickets.

  54. Alan September 26, 2015 at 5:48 pm -

    I have been driving over 40 years. Never been in a accident. Had one speeding ticket 20 years ago. I have taken driver safety courses on my own accord. Yet every year my premium went up. So I just switched to Arbella. I see how they treat me. I hope better than All state.

  55. Agent Rob sax Virginia September 27, 2015 at 5:24 am -

    First of all, let me start off by saying that Allstate is better than everybody offering insurance.

    We might not be the cheapest, but we keep our word.

    If you do not receive a check because of your safe driving, you’re the only one to blame, most of you probably lied and we found out!

    I make a quarter million dollars every year selling insurance to people just like you, yes I am profiting from you but you’re also getting a good deal, keep a good credit score I’m a safe driver and record, and call your agent to get your 5% stopping something out because we work hard for you, I have no patience for clients always complain and I want nothing to do with anyone who has no respect for this insurance company

    If you’re not happy with us, please leave!

  56. Steve September 28, 2015 at 12:53 pm -

    I was told by my Allstate agent that the bonus check program does not apply for California. I have a friend, who lives in Arizona that was told the same thing by his agent. What I want to know is if it doesn’t apply in California, then how is Allstate able to run all the commercials on TV promoting it to entice customers.

  57. Dave November 2, 2015 at 2:10 pm -

    As a former Allstate Agent (now independent agent) i can shed some light on these checks. (in Illinois)

    In a nutshell, you need to pay 15% more for the “Platinum Plan” in order to get 5% back if claim free for 6 months. You also get accident forgiveness for that 15% increase.

    The older Allstate clients (before 2004) do not get this option because they have an older style policy. (they are also getting ripped off with much higher rates as a reward for their loyalty to the company)

    So leave it to an Insurance company to sell you insurance, on your insurance.

  58. John Sevier November 2, 2015 at 8:51 pm -

    Seriously, i would not have allstste insurance ander any circumstance. I know what they did to their “insurred” in central Texas during our fires. They are a big company with a big advertising budget and thats it. Zero return if you need insurance. Avoid them.

  59. Dana Alabama November 4, 2015 at 11:52 am -

    I have been receiving a bonus check for 2 years but if you check your billing history you will see where there is a credit for your bonus check. If you cash the check it is tacked back on to your premiums. 🙁

  60. Sergio M November 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm -

    I just saw the commercial for the billionth times. All I can is bull s$&@! I was told I don’t qualify in California. Ya da ya da ya da… Good driving record + no claims = no safe driving bonus check. Just doesn’t add up.

  61. Sergio M November 21, 2015 at 1:38 pm -

    I read agent rob sax post and all I can say is this is how you thank your loyal Allstate customers. You sound like an arrogant jerk who is making good money at the expense of people’s hard work. As a matter of fact you motivated me to start looking for another insurance company. If your a reflection of how the Allstate agents feel about us, I’d rather bounce and pay more…

  62. Joseph November 30, 2015 at 8:56 pm -

    Agent rob sax has just basically told us the reasons for Allstate’s lies, fake safe driving bonus checks, which ARE added back to your premium balance regardless of whether or not you cash the two measley checks you receive each year. I’ve been an Allstate customer for 9 years and wish I had checked into the competition long ago. I’ll be paying 44% less with the company I chose. All other insurance companies I looked into were between 16-38% cheaper than Allstate and my deductible will even be half of what it was, thank God. Better coverage, lower deductibles, lower premiums, and no gimmick safe bonus checks that you are charged for on your bill are just some of the great reasons to dump Allstate!!

  63. claire lindell-key January 1, 2016 at 1:03 pm -

    AGNES, how then do you fit in my increase with your reasonin? My rates increased due to slight increased mileage (not much but more than my routine). This was stated as the reason. The only event that could have brought this about was that I had increased trips to the neighboring town to assist parents with medical needs (visits). My 3-year car has 15,000+ miles. Not a lot for Northern Califoria’s bay area. No accidents, ever, and my only traffic ticket was from 1980 for exceeding speed limit slightly in 30 mph zone. Something tells me you’ll want to update the accuracy of your post. By the way, I am now back to routine driving mileage. Can I expect my premium to be reduced at next renewal?

  64. Kevin elms January 24, 2016 at 3:56 pm -

    I would like to sue them every time I see the bonus check commercial

  65. Doug T February 1, 2016 at 7:04 pm -

    Rates unfortunately increase for many reasons. I’m going to break it down like this. Ok, so we are paying for other people’s stupidity and unfortunately their accidents &/or anything your mutual insurance company has to pay out for.

    • First, lets take a big book and put a bunch of names in it.

    • Next, put their individual annual premium amounts they pay next to their names.

    Finally, add all of and write the total premium amount. An insurance company has to have that total amount available at all times. This is so if everyone in that book were to have a loss of everything insured at once the insurance company will be able to cover the losses you all pay for. So when John crashes his car Allstate for example has to pay to fix that vehicle… In return this drains the amount Allstate or any other company has saved in that pot. They then have to refill the amount that was used to repair John’s vehicle. That’s when rates raise as a whole so essentially you are paying for each other’s mistakes. Some say; “I’m throwing my money away every year (in case) I have an accident.” My best advice to everyone is, when you need it it’s there. Kind of like there is a 50% chance of rain… What about the positive aspect…. Such as, there is a 50% chance it isn’t going to rain. I have a hard time with the government forcing things upon me as well. I have my medical bills paid for by Allstate for life because of a horrible accident I was in and I am now an Insurance Agent only because the person who hit me was carrying the state minimum insurance requirements.
    Bodily Injury Liability Limits of [20,000/40,000]. Yeah .. you probably won’t have a multi million dollar medical bill like I did ~> (3.9 million to be exact.) <~ However, I always wanted "Cheap Insurance" & complained about it all the time but…. It was there "WHEN" the worst happened to me. I agree the system is set up for some to benefit from others and could be adjusted.. but don't be that person that said "I should have_____.
    I live by my own quote and that is:
    – "There will always be another tomorrow to be better than you were today… but there will never be another yesterday. Live without regrets my friends.

    – Agent DTJ –
    Licensed In Michigan & Florida

  66. Michele February 3, 2016 at 4:38 pm -

    I have been with Allstate for 1 1/2 years now and have come to realize that the safe driving bonus check is just a small loan because in my renewal it shows a line item for the amount of the check they are sending to me. That doesn’t constitute a “bonus” in the traditional sense of the word.

    Bonus –
    1. something free, as an extra dividend, given by a corporation to a purchaser of its securities.
    2. a premium paid for a loan, contract, etc

    I think their definition and my definition are as far apart as numbers one and two above.

    I will be cancelling this “loan” that I receive every 6 months.

  67. Craig February 11, 2016 at 10:34 am -

    2/02/2016 DRIVEWISE® Performance Reward check issued 36.35 Balance 654.30

    2/02/2016 DRIVEWISE® Performance Reward
    36.35 Balance 617.95

    1/15/2016 Installment fee charge 1.00 654.30

    Allstate credits you then when they issue the check they add that amount to your balance, so in essence, it is not a credit, it’s smoke and mirrors. Looking at USAA, good bye Allstate.

  68. jacee February 16, 2016 at 11:50 pm -

    Have not had any problems with Allstate Home and Auto. But the commercial, after inquiring, for the good driver bonus check only applies for certain states. Why isn’t that mentioned on the commercials?
    But they do apply all the other good driver discounts. Just the check is missing for CA and possibly other states, for what reason I do not know. Population? who knows?
    Oh yes, by the way someone mentioned Obamacare for raising rates. Well, yes, like your cable bill, your phone bill, electric bill, etc. Your government regulatory fee’s, if you have noticed or not, are being raised unquestionably due to free cell phones and discounts that provides these services to people who can’t afford them. Just sayin

  69. Patti Nicholas February 20, 2016 at 9:51 am -

    Not true. My premiums went up with no changes made by me. No accidents no tickets nothing.

  70. Jon April 7, 2016 at 10:30 am -

    My premiums went up over $300 just for state min coverage and when I talk to my agent he said it’s because Allstate has to make the difference up from all the insurance claim this pass year and if you ask me this is bs why should that affect me when I haven’t had no tickets nor accidents

  71. jearold ulin April 25, 2016 at 9:01 pm -

    Complete and utter WORTHLESS! Purchased a 50K Med Policy Allstate were/and is still stalling me on after months. Had to resort to filing a *****Complaint w/State Insurance Commissioner***** as U should if U R being ripped off for coverage U clearly purchased.

  72. Treasa June 13, 2016 at 2:16 pm -

    No it’s not a scam,i have been with Allstate for 10 years and every 6 months I get a check for 156.00,, just got mines today ,,so not. A scam baby not at all

  73. James September 7, 2016 at 4:33 am -

    just received my safe drivers award check and also renewal notice, why am I being charged for the amount of the check! If this is an award for safe driving, why am I paying for what the check is being written for?

  74. RC September 28, 2016 at 8:30 pm -

    Insurance is a for-profit industry. There’s the problem.

  75. ROGER KVALE October 17, 2016 at 12:40 am -

    So if the bonus check is not available in California, why do they show the commercial here. I think this is a false advertisement to draw in customers. Maybe I should go back to state farm, I was receiving checks with them

  76. Jean Steinmetz October 19, 2016 at 12:28 pm -

    I just received an increase on the renewal policy. I paid $1,743.10 in March of this year then added my 18 years old son with a good student and good driver discount in May and started paying $2,034.10. Now I get the renewal for November and they want to raise it again to $2,337.80 That is almost a $600 increase in less than a year or over a 20% increase in total. This is outrageous.

  77. Sam October 25, 2016 at 2:04 pm -

    False.

    Insurance premiums are based on a lot of factors. Some reasons are increased coverages and driving history, but others are increases due to claims costs in the area. I haven’t made any changes and have not been involved in an accident in my 14 yrs of driving and my premiums increase. I get it. A gallon of milk is no longer 25 cents. Medical, legal, etc increase over time too, so I’m sure the same us true about insurance.

    The last time my premium increased was because the “symbols” for my vehicle changed. That certainly wasnt anything I did, the department of insurance or some other company decided that. At least my insurance company actually takes the time to explain why, even if i dont like the reason.

  78. Susana October 30, 2016 at 5:17 pm -

    It is a scam!!!THEY HAVE NOT SEND ME A CHECK!!!!! I haven’t had accident or a ticket for 20 years …

  79. john araneo November 9, 2016 at 6:28 pm -

    I and my significant other, have four vehicles insured through Allstate. Although we’re newcomers to the Allstate family, we also have our home, our 4 vehicles( including a Motor home policy), insured by Allstate. Do we get bonus checks for each vehicle, or one check, no matter how many vehicles, or drivers? Also, what stipulations apply, in terns of what do I have to do, to be eligible? We spend around 5,000/yr. on Allstate insurance. Aren’t we entitled to more customer rewards, for being so faithful?

  80. john araneo November 9, 2016 at 6:48 pm -

    I was reading the many negative letters from allstate customers, and many of them were, at face value, quite disconcerting. Is this how you people treat faithful customers? I personally have had no issues with you so far, but I can’t help but wonder if I need to file a claim, on my auto, home and property, or flood insurance. If this is true, I might better look around, and do more homework, before giving your company several thousands a year. What gives? I sought youout, because of your reputation, but now, I’m not so sure. I’d like a reply to this issue, BEFORE I need your help. It’s a sad state of affairs, if I can’t trust my well paid insurance company, to be “in good hands” when I need you most.

  81. Barbara Case November 19, 2016 at 9:03 am -

    Agnes this is a lie. You pay 112.00 for the good driver bonus check and you only get 100.00 back. Fraud to the max. I’m thinking about a lawsuit.

  82. Shawn December 29, 2016 at 9:35 pm -

    that’s not true. I haven’t had an accident or traffic violation in almost ten years. But my monthly premium has went from 98 to 113 to 108. Please explain

  83. Car guy January 8, 2017 at 9:28 am -

    Been with Allstate for years , no checks , they always screw up our policy, get told one thing on the phone and billed a higher amount if you ask me the whole company is a scam I am switching when my policy expires

  84. jefes January 9, 2017 at 8:02 pm -

    Agnes is not living in the real world. I had allstate but switched, why?? Because my premiums increased 90$ for 6 months, that is almost 200$ a year. I called and asked why, because no claims, accidents or tickets. I was told becaue their rates went up. They can raise their rates at any time for no reason.

    Nice try Agnes

  85. Patricia Irvin February 12, 2017 at 6:48 am -

    Explain to me how you are getting 3 checks in a year when supposedly Allstate send the checks every six months….something is not adding up with this here story….

  86. Be March 23, 2017 at 1:04 am -

    Scam would be a nicer way of saying it. Been with Allstate for 20 yrs. and only seen one refund. Sure premium went up. Year after year. and I’ve seen them change my policy thinking I wouldn’t see it.. At first policies omitted a lot of what was covered so you think you have everything, full coverage car rental as stated at first. I even Purchased homeowners insurance. Then lastest statement came and it shows no rental. Some of the terminology has changed to confuse you even more. Come to find out I was over insured on my home in which I don’t make out, Allstate made out. I finally ended my business with them after the agent got all stupid on the phone with me..And still no bonus check.

  87. Bubba April 6, 2017 at 6:39 pm -

    First, I understand insurance is a BUSINESS. Their purpose is to earn a profit over and above expenses. This is where problems enter: I’m not going to get into splitting hairs about definitions, but there’s a difference between profits and screwing people. Despite insurance companies trying to play the “we’re just a poor company barely scraping by while we do policyholders SUCH a GREAT service”, they’re like bankers: their profits are OBSCENE. The reserves they maintain to cover losses are bare minimum. Then, when they have large losses, they just deny claims. DO NOT try to tell me they don’t. Look at the floods in New Orleans. One other difference: you’re not required to have a bank account; unless you want to be Big Bubba’s plaything for a long time, you HAVE to have insurance if you’re going to drive. So DLJ, don’t try to give us insurance industry smoke and mirrors to justify uncaring,unconscionable conduct

  88. _-_ April 10, 2017 at 3:57 am -

    Insurance companies are allowed to change rates by the state based on their claims experience.

  89. Bernardina Peters June 15, 2017 at 8:33 pm -

    Me too,I never got a check always a increase

  90. Brian July 11, 2017 at 10:45 am -

    I think if buy or lease it can go up or down. I also take driver class every 3 years for 10% off. I was paying like $100 a month for 2 veichles and Now I’m over $130 with no tickets or accidents.

  91. John W July 15, 2017 at 2:40 pm -

    It is misleading and trickery. I am in Florida, and the safe driver bonus is not available in Florida. Yet they play this commercial on many TV stations all year long, year after year. So they are enticing customers to come into Allstate offices, but you will not be eligible no matter how good of a driving record you have for the bonus. So when you advertise a product in an area where it is not allowed or available, that is misleading. How is it not?

  92. Kathy September 19, 2017 at 9:20 am -

    I have been going round and round with my agent over this. I receive a “safe driver bonus” check every 6 months. But what AllState does is they deduct the amount of your “bonus” from your balance, then issue you a check and add that amount back into your balance. So – THERE IS NO BONUS!! If my account balance is $100 then they deduct $10 = $90 balance. They issue me a check for $10 and then add the $10 back into my balance. So $90 + $10 = $100 balance. THERE IS NO BONUS!!! simple math – numbers don’t lie, but AllState does. This is Fraud!! (ps – the #s above were for simplicities sake – not the real account figures)

  93. Stacie September 29, 2017 at 11:37 am -

    Not true. I had nothing mentioned in your statement, have NOT received any discount,check NOTHING. I have good driving record. CLEAN. Just an increase. I’m being punished for other idiots on the road. And no I am NOT downloading your app to monitor my driving. That’s my business and this world wants in on everything you do and even you agents don’t always follow the laws now do you you…its only a crime if you get caught.

  94. travis October 9, 2017 at 10:54 am -

    you will not receive this check if you live in NY. by NYS law allstate is NOT allowed to send a check it will be applied to your policy as a discount called safe driving club. as for rates going up if you have not had an accident blame the rest of NY drivers because the worse everyone else drives the more your insurance rates will go up due to insurance being shared risk. as someone mentioned earlier about drivewise the better you drive the more of a discount you will receive, you are not having your rates increased you are having a discount decreased because of YOUR driving.

  95. Chris..... Rob....... October 9, 2017 at 4:43 pm -

    I been with all state going on five month now, I left state farm after a period time because of the customer service at my local farm agency was terrible.. any , I came to all state. The agency Barry Boone in Valdosta ga, stress how important it was to enroll in the drive wise, and download the app on my phone.. within the first 2 or 3 months, I received a check for 150.00, and I have not been with the company 6month yet. I look at the app faithfully on my phone everyday. I TRY to stay within the challenge to get points and hope get a bigger check. I had no complaints but I had to email the because my points wasn’t not being add with the points I have. But the fix it… All state been nothing but good to me so FAR,.. I hope my premium don’t go up when it’s time for renewal or the check don’t stop coming. But I recommend you download the All state app to your phone… if u do . I bet u get a check cut, that’s if u doing what u suppose to be doing… shout out to Barry Boone agency Valdosta, Ga. The customer service there is phenomenal!!

  96. Laura p hall October 30, 2017 at 7:25 pm -

    how often you receive bonus every 6 months?

  97. MONICA FOLSE November 24, 2017 at 4:42 am -

    How long does it take after u redeem it online

  98. Sharon December 7, 2017 at 4:15 pm -

    I have never received a check. Came to this page and found I am not alone

  99. VERY HAPPY allstate customer December 13, 2017 at 8:56 pm -

    I am very happy with Allstate, not only did I get an amazing deal on my policy, cheaper than progressive or geico, but after enrolling in drivewise I got an instant 3% discount on my policy, which was sent to me via check within days. I am a super safe driver and am up to a 6% additional discount for my safe driving, and it can go all the way up to 20%, which im sure mine will get close to that. Anyway that is totally awesome and on the app it shows your rewards and you can cash them out as soon as you get them. I pay my policy in full every 6 months and save even more money (on top of all the other insane amount of discounts that I’m already getting) so I am very satisfied with Allstate. All the haters on here don’t realize that insurance, along with EVERYTHING else we pay for including housing, taxes, food, gas, etc can go up with the economy (INFLATION) so even if you have no accidents or changes your policy can go up. Even though mine seems to always go down. Well I don’t care what responses anyone else says ALLSTATE IS AWESOME and has very competitive rates!!!!! Thanks for being one of the only good insurance companies out there!!!

  100. Vielman March 5, 2018 at 11:36 pm -

    Ive never got either A or B options and still getting increases from all state in every renewal. I called and they run around and no explanation.

Leave a Response