Nevada Uninsured Motorist Laws Get Tougher
Nevada uninsured motorist laws are getting stricter. Under the new law, first-time uninsured drivers who only lapse for 1-30 days will still face a $250 fine, but repeat offenders could face fees up to $750. Uninsured drivers who lapse for 181 days or more will pay $1,000+ in fines and be required to get SR-22 insurance. Learn more about the new Nevada uninsured motorist laws below.
Free Insurance Comparison
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 19, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.
Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider. Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about life insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything life insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by life insurance experts.
Nevada drivers have even more reason to ensure they are properly insured going forward.
Starting July 1, Senate Bill 323 establishes a tiered system of fees and fines for those who allow their auto insurance coverage to lapse.
Previously, vehicles with a lapse of insurance coverage were subject to suspension of registration and a reinstatement fee of $250.
Fines up to $1,750!
But now drivers could face fees up to $1,750 if they fail to carry state minimum auto insurance coverage.
Per the new law, those who only lapse for 1-30 days will still face a $250 fine (assuming it’s their first offense), but repeat offenders could face fees up to $750.
And those who lapse for 181 days or more, even if they aren’t repeat offenders, will pay the big bucks ($1,000+) and be required to get SR-22 insurance.
So if you’re thinking about “letting it ride” in Vegas, you may want to re-think that decision very carefully.
Get Liability-Only Auto at the Minimum
There are plenty of cost-efficient options for those seeking liability-only insurance.
Keep in mind that while it’s much cheaper than full coverage auto insurance, it doesn’t cover physical damage to your own vehicle, which could be pretty important if you drive a Corvette or similar sports car.
Read more: Is auto insurance required in every state?